PDA

View Full Version : Rev Limit on JDM H22?



93-LX-C
12-31-2003, 01:48 AM
Hello,everyone. I'm a noobie to this forum and have alot to learn from it. Well to get to the point I've hade my H22 for about 3 months now and have had a few opportunities to try and max it out. For some reason it shuts off at around 5500rpms in fifth gear. Is that supposed to happen? I know that my old engine (f22a4) took me to 125+ and the H22 only went 110. Anyone else have that problem?

ACCLUDE
12-31-2003, 07:41 PM
Welcome to the forum! I'm kinda new now, but I was a regular on the old AR forum. Anyways, sorry to hear about your problems. To start off with, NO, IT IS NOT NORMAL FOR YOUR CAR TO CUT OFF AT 5500 RPM IN 5TH GEAR! You should still have another 2000 RPM's to go before hitting redline. So my questions to you are,
1. Is it only 5th gear or all gears?
2. Auto or manual?
3. Are you using the stock P13 ECU?
4. Does VTEC kick in?
5. Is your Check Engine Light on?

I think it's an issue with wiring, something wrong with IAB, or possibly a bad ECU. The main reason I say that is because 5500 RPM is a significant # when it comes to H22's. It's the RPM that VTEC kicks in and it's also the RPM that IAB is activated. If your car cuts off then, it sounds like a bad ECU or possibly wires crossed or a bad sensor/IAB intake runners. Hope that helps narrow it down a little and reply with anymore info you can. Good luck.

93-LX-C
01-01-2004, 01:02 AM
I have a manual tranny, there aren't any check engine lights, it's only in 5th gear and I am using the stock p13. What is the IAB sensor?

ACCLUDE
01-01-2004, 01:20 AM
IAB - Intake Air Bypass
The intake manifold has two paths that the air can flow through to reach each cylinder. The primary path is short and the secondary set of runners (IAB) are long. At very high RPMs the secondary path is opened up to allow the engine to breathe easier. This, in conjunction with VTEC, helps the engine produce even more power. The motor will run fine without it, but it helps produce maximum power. On the H22, IAB is activated at 5500 RPM. A tuneable or customized ECU can alter the IAB activation point or disable it altogether.

More questions for you...

Does it kinda stall out gradually or does it die immediately at 5500 everytime?
Does it die peacefully or is it rough and shake violently?
Any noises when it shuts off?

93-LX-C
01-01-2004, 01:23 AM
it's pretty smooth. Actually it just slows down about 5 mph and then resumes like nothing happens.

ACCLUDE
01-01-2004, 01:23 AM
also....

After it cuts out, does it start right back up without any problems or do you have to try a few times to get it going again?

93-LX-C
01-01-2004, 01:25 AM
it just starts up without any problems

ACCLUDE
01-01-2004, 01:32 AM
Ok, ok.. it's just bogging down at high RPM's. Odd that it only happens in 5th gear.....could be tranny related but not likely. The ECU doesn't measure what gear you're in with manuals so that's not gonna be it. I would actually suggest testing the VSS sensor. If it's registering high, then that's making your ECU kick on the speed limiter early. With the speed limiter, you should be able to see speeds around 120-125. With the speed limiter removed, you could potentially see speeds up to 150 with a stock H22. Again a new ECU can take care of that. Anyways...TEST THE VSS SENSOR. If you have questions on how let me know.

ridin90accord
01-21-2004, 07:50 PM
my buddys 2000 monte carlo ss does the same thing except his is auto and it does it at 4500 and i think it only has 4 gears.. but its at about 120.... it kind of just catches and then will let you start again.. i always just thought it was the governor kicking in

TheFirstNutZo
01-23-2004, 10:20 AM
on my governor just you accelerate (I have a f22a6 in a 93 ex AT, haven't tried on my new 93 ex MT) until about 108-109MPH... then the tachometer just slows down and stops going up at about 4500 RPM (I think thats what it was it was like 8 months ago) in 4th.. and that is it. no shaking, just it stops accelerating.

4thgenaccord
01-25-2004, 01:47 AM
Hello. Iamnew to this site too. I am getting ready to do my H22 swap. Iwas wondering. how do you remove the rev limitor, or set it higher?

TheFirstNutZo
01-25-2004, 12:35 PM
The stock H22 comes with a P13 ECU (computer). You need to either modify this chip (not recommended), or buy/modify a P28 ECU, this'll put your redline around 9500 I believe it is.

4thgenaccord
01-25-2004, 03:01 PM
The stock H22 comes with a P13 ECU (computer). You need to either modify this chip (not recommended), or buy/modify a P28 ECU, this'll put your redline around 9500 I believe it is.


What did the P28 come in? or is it aftermarket? Sorry for the dumb question, just learning.

TheFirstNutZo
01-25-2004, 10:48 PM
I honestly do not know if its an aftermarket chip or whether its a JDM chip. Somebody on here oughta know, but unfortunately that somebody ain't me :) My best bet would be its a JDM chip that is reprogrammed. Not sure, but that would be my best bet.

'92AcCoRd
02-01-2004, 10:51 PM
Yah my 92 lx 2dr Auto, tops out @ like 115 mph...which I found strange cuz my 97 civic tops out @ 123 and I have had accords, like mine, finally pass me when mine tops out...cuz it drops me to 118. WTF? I need to go faster ..this shit sux.... :mad:

drfrank
09-26-2004, 01:51 PM
the h22 has a speed limiter in it, wont go past like 114 or suttin like that.. you have to get it modded to allow you to go faster.

thatrussian
10-24-2004, 02:35 PM
the same thing on my accord it hits 115 then cuts off the starts again at like 110, so as soon as you hit 115 the gov. kicks in. the only way to go faster it is to chip it or go down a big hill...(of course my car is only a f22a and a H22 should go faster than that)

93haccord
03-04-2005, 07:54 PM
yeah, definetly the governor

MADMAX
03-04-2005, 08:11 PM
Skunk 2 makes a computer that removes the speedlimiter I have a V-AFC but I have to get the Skunk 2. When I had my H22 in my old accord I pushed it to 130+ with (Nology wires,MSD SCI,DC Sports headers,2"exhaust).

But now I have a lot more goodies :bounce: 10 days & counting to the new swap :goodjobcl
:firedevil

acc90rd
03-04-2005, 10:22 PM
its called the governor as he said ^. Your going to fast so a fuel cut off comes in, slows you down, then resumes. No big deal. Chip your p13 ecu run uberdata and disable the speed limiter and rev limiter and you can go as fast as the engine wants too.

MADMAX
04-10-2005, 02:49 PM
govener
:firedevil

jdm92lude
06-07-2005, 02:32 PM
i also have that same problem. b4 my jdm h22a swap i had a h23 that brought me to 135 mph now this h22 piece is strong until about 110 then just goes stupid.. what did you do to resolve your problem??