Topic: A few questions on a 90 Accord.

Default A few questions on a 90 Accord.

I just got this car for free from a friend. I'm planning on putting a set of Neuspeed drop springs on it, a few "modest" body mods, and I would like to do an H22 swap someday, as this thing is just GUTLESS!

I'm a musclecar/old-skool hotrod guy. I have a '69 AMC javelin, 390, 400hp, 12.9@107 on street tires. I also have a '62 Chevy truck that has been chopped 4", Channeled, has suicide doors and reverse-opening hood, with a built Chevy 283, with flame-thrower exhaust.
    This is the first Honda I've owned, but Im an ASE mechanic and havebeen for 7 years, so I've worked on quite a few of them over the years.

My questions are:
    #1: It has a nasty misfire right above idle, under light-load conditions. If I step on it, it clears out and goes like stink. I'm thinking that Either the IAC is dirty, or I've heard that Honda's have problems with wearing out the bushings/bearings in the distributor. Is there any good way to test this without taking it off the car?

#2 The tach bounces all over the place. This just started recently. Also the tranny doesn't always want to shift. I have heard that these two things may be related.

#3 It's got the auto tranny. I hate auto trannies. What would it take to swap to a five-speed (there's a wrecked one in a local yard, with the complete 5-speed setup. i was told I could get the whole car for $400.)

And for sure, what power levels can i get out of the stock motor? This thing is just WAY too slow...

Thanks, guys.

And one more question. It needs an exhaust. i want to do a cat-back system, but I am pretty low on funds (my wife and I just had a baby. MAN, these things are expensive!) But I want something with a nice tone to it, not like the cars that run around here, where they sound like a continuous wet fart.

Thanks,
    Chris