PDA

View Full Version : Newb racing question

Fibris
04-22-2007, 06:02 PM
This question will probably sound really dumb...but I'm very new to driving. (I just got my license). I know that since an Accord is and FF it understeers. I also know that if you use left-foot braking it counters the understeer. I started using lfb and my driving got smoother and I can attack corners faster now, but i still don't understand how it all works. I think that if i figured out the physics behind it I would be able to go faster. Could someone please explain the whole lfb thing...?

BostonAndy
04-23-2007, 10:17 AM
LFB - Stop doing it today!

Seriously, if you just got your license, you have so much to learn before you are ready to be doing shit like this. You are going to end up killing yourself, or worse someone else.

You need to get atleast a year or two of driving under your belt before you push the limits.

You also need to learn exactly where the limits are, and how they should be approached. This is not something a recently licensed driver is at all qualified to do.

If you want to learn to push the limits, get some experience first so that you will respect what the car is capable of and know what it is not capable of. Next you start to learn how to push the limits. You can do this by going to a high performance driving school and/or reading publications on driving.

I really enjoy pushing the limits of my car, but I only do so when the road is open and no one else is around. I would love to go to the Mid Ohio School's Honda/Acura Performance Driving Course, but that is about $5k so it is out of my price range. Since I can not afford to go to one of these schools, I read as many books and magazines as I can about the proven techniques of high performance driving. Again, I only practice these techniques on an open road, after I have throughly studied them.